jump to navigation

Team Offsite: We Eat, Sleep and Breathe SnapVillage April 30, 2008

Posted by Team SnapVillage in snapvillage.
Tags: ,
trackback

 

The SnapVillage Team recently ventured out of the office for a little bonding and brainstorming on Washington’s Pacific Coast. We took two full days to talk about where we’ve been and where we’re going in the rest of 2008 and beyond.

Brian, our content guy, thought a Polar Bear Swim would be a good “ice breaker” for us. With a little encouragement, half of our team took the plunge while the other half photographed the insanity.  That swim really got our blood moving and sparked some great discussion about the site (and made a few of us sick, too).

We spent two days discussing just about everything that is SnapVillage. From marketing to content to new features. Now that we’re back in the office, we’re energized and ready to continue to improve the village.

These are just a few of the things we talked about:

  • Ideas for the next big iteration of the SnapVillage website
  • Tools to improve contributor communications and contributor tools
  • Ideas to provide the highest level of customer service in the industry
  • Industry-leading, somewhat crazy product enhancement ideas

We’ve done some brainstorming, now it’s your turn. Send us your feedback by commenting on this post or emailing contactus@snapvillage.com. Help build the village.

Liz

Team SnapVillage

Comments»

1. Chris - April 30, 2008

Keep up the great work SV team 🙂

2. MikeMcD - May 2, 2008

Suggestions for future development:

1. FTP uploading.
2. On-the-fly stats (I have to wait till the end of the month to see how I’m doing?)
3. FTP uploading.
4. Safari support (I still have to do all uploading via Firefox to avoid crashes. Buyers are frequently designers, designers frequently use Macs, Macs come with Safari, you see the problem here)
5. FTP uploading.
6. FTP uploading.
7. Did I mention FTP uploading?

3. Magda Dobosza - May 3, 2008

Hi. I just TRY to join.
1. how can I find the info how many photos I just upload ?
2. how can I find the info what photos I just upload ?
3. how can I find the info about some photo verification ?
4. how can I find the info about status of each photo ?
5. ftp ?
6. enable subscription download…. some explanation

but. Site is great ! Just put more info
I hope you will join the big 6

4. Troy - May 19, 2008

I just want to say that after a few months on Snap Village I think it’s pretty clear there’s no way photographers are going to make any serious money here. First off, it seems like most of the photos don’t get that many views in the first place, if people don’t see the photos, they won’t buy the photos.

Second, even the “snappiest” photos I’ve looked at, the ones that get tons of views, were only downloaded a handful of times. For example, I just looked at the top rated image for a search on flower photos, it received 1,458 views and was downloaded 6 times, which I believe earns the photographer a whopping $1.80 because the photo was priced at a dollar. Even if the photographers set the price relatively high the actual percentage they receive isn’t going to add up to much, is it? Stands to reason that less people are going to pay for a $25 image than a $1 image, so maybe a $25 image with 2,000 views is going to net a download or two, after Snap Village takes it’s hefty cut, how’s that going to add up to anything worth the time it takes to photograph, process, upload, tag, and describe an image?

So who actually makes real money through Snap Village? It’s owned by Corbis, which in turn is owned by Bill Gates, is that correct? And Bill Gates is really the one who needs more cash, right? Right….

It just doesn’t seem worth it.

5. Robin - June 2, 2008

I don’t see SnapVillage in the same way that Troy does. To me SnapVillage is a supermarket where I can display my images for sale. If they don’t sell then I have pictures that nobody wants to buy – or can find a better picture to suit their purpose. If a picture has 1,458 views and only 6 sales then you know that 1,452 potential buyers have found a different image which they like better. They have the choice just as we have the choice between smooth or crunchy peanut butter. And if a picture has had 1,458 views that is 1457 more views than if the photographer merely kept it on his hard drive.

As regards the price per image, that does not really concern me either. I am only concerned with the return on the total number of images I have on site. And the more images I have on site the more my total earnings should be.

When I am out with my camera I keep in mind how a particular photograph could be used. Often I go out with a particular type of picture in my mind. I am not looking for great pictures – merely pictures I think will sell.

As for Bill Gates and his money…..! Well, he provided the world with the Windows interface. Without that there would be very little in the way of digital photography for the masses. In fact, the majority would not have a computer.


Leave a Reply

