jump to navigation

Wondering what pictures you can send us? October 19, 2007

Posted by Team SnapVillage in snapvillage.
trackback

It’s October. The leaves are falling, a crisp chill is in the air, and people everywhere are starting to get into the holiday spirit – and looking for images of pumpkins, turkeys, and Christmas trees for their invitations, holiday cards, website themes, and other creative projects! October through December is a peak volume period for downloading digital images and illustrations. If you haven’t already scoured your portfolio for holiday related images and illustrations to upload, now is the time!

And in case you need some inspiration, we’ve provided a list of the most popular image themes during this season. Scan the list and go for it! SnapVillage could use your help to build out our holiday library, and if you’re one of the first to provide a hip looking snowman — it is sure to sell well!

Spooky Halloween: autumn scenes; kids in costume; Halloween symbols like pumpkins, haunted houses, cemeteries, spider webs, skeletons, and witches; illustration silhouettes of leafless trees, black cats, bats, crows, and/or the full moon.

Thanksgiving Bounty: Thanksgiving symbols like turkey, pumpkin pie, fruit cornucopia, family eating together, a set table; autumn scenes involving colorful trees & leaves, corn/cornfields, pumpkins, and kids jumping in leaf piles.

Winter Celebrations: winter scenes & symbols like snowflakes, snow covered pine trees, holly & berries, snowman, and poinsettia; Christmas symbols like a Christmas tree, ornaments & lights, wrapped presents, candy canes, stockings, fireplace, an overwhelmed Christmas shopper, and nativity scenes; Hanukkah themed images, menorahs, candles, stars; Kwanzaa themed images, and other holiday themed images.

New Year’s Fun: party scenes; New Years symbols like champagne bottles popping, champagne flutes, confetti, fireworks, people dancing, bands playing; New Years countdown symbols like a calendar, “2008,” “January 1st,” a clock countdown; winter scenes.

If you have any suggestions for how we can help you be successful this holiday season, please write to us via the contact us form here.

Have fun this holiday season, and see you around SnapVillage!

Comments»

1. Shi Yali - October 20, 2007

If you want us to upload more images, then please give us a better upload tool. Five images at a time is very slow and tedious. Thanks in advance.

2. wayoutwest - October 22, 2007

The village seems to have some buyers. Sold one yesterday and logged in today to see another sale. There are a few people mentioning sales on another forum I use.

I like that the 2 images downloaded only had 3 views between them. That is a good views to sales ratio.

3. Sheriar - October 25, 2007

I agree with “Shi Yali”. Five images at a time IS very slow and tedious. I believe this limit should be raised multi-fold. However, the challenge will be for the SnapVillage team of inspectors to make sure the approval turn-around time does not go out of hand.

4. techwall » Blog Archive » Wondering what pictures you can send us? - October 25, 2007

[…] here This entry was posted on Friday, October 19th, 2007 at 11:36 pm and is filed under holiday images. […]

5. alex - October 26, 2007

thats great sale, but what was your price , if I can ask you..
thanks

6. evelyn mcgeever - November 5, 2007

SV says I have one download, when I click on ..”sort by..downloads” that downloaded picture shows AND many,many more. Have these other files been unoffically…stolen?..downloaded..why did they appear on the downloaded page??If they were indeed stolen, I’d like to remove all my files from your site. Also, when I put a price on a pic of $25. or $10…why does it say .30 rolalty?

7. evelyn mcgeever - November 5, 2007

SV says I have one download, when I click on ..”sort by..downloads” that downloaded picture shows AND many,many more. Have these other files been unofficially…stolen?..downloaded..why did they appear on the downloaded page??If they were indeed stolen, I’d like to remove all my files from your site. Also, when I put a price on a pic of $25. or $10…why does it say .30 royalty?

8. hatman - November 8, 2007

Evelyn your $0.30 sale would have been a subscription sale. If you do not wish to allow subscription sales you must turn off the option for each picture and change it also in your profile page.

9. wayoutwest - November 10, 2007

I hope someone from SV can answer your question but this is what I think. Sort by downloads just shows your downloaded image first followed by the rest of your portfolio. It doesn’t mean they are stolen.

The .30 royalty is for a subscription download. If you don’t want to sell them by subscription, you need to opt out when you upload them. I would email SV support if you want to opt out images that are already approved.

10. David Fowler - November 10, 2007

Congratulations on a sale Evelyn! I have just tried the sort by download button and my entire portfolio came up even though I haven’t had any yet. It must sort them by quantity of downloads so your one sale would come first followed by the rest of your portfolio. Look at the Downloads message on each picture and they will probaly say zero ( assuming this was your first sale). Nothing sinister there. As for the thirty cents commission have a look at the terms and conditions section. You get a percentage of the 25/10 dollar price you set (30% from memory) but if you allow your pix to be downloaded as part of a bulk subcription from a buyer using loads of photos you get 30 cents if yours is one of them. You have the option of this when you upload or can change this at any time you want. Mine are all priced at 25 dollars but have allowed subcriptions as down the line all those 30 cents will add up! This is pretty much standard across the industry but SV has the big advantage of allowing you to set your main price.Others libraries do not! Hope this helps Evelyn, I would stick with SV as I think it will have a great future once established. Happy selling out there.

11. Paulo Resende - November 19, 2007

I can´t upload! after i make the upload nothing happen! What is wrong?

12. David Fowler - November 29, 2007

Further to my response to Evelyn, I had my first download yesterday followed by another today! Things are starting to happen I think. They were both subscription sales but as I said to Evelyn, it all adds up! If you have not had a sale yet keep the faith. Happy selling out there.

13. Aladytraveler - J Mertz - November 30, 2007

Yeah, I had my first two dowloads this week while I was out of state and they were on a 10 and 25 images. so I get 10.50. At last the people are
starting to come to Snap Village. Hurray. Good luck to everyone.
I have to get presents wrapped for the holidays so I can get more photos on asap.
Thanks Snap Village and Happy Holidays to everyone!

14. Art Wager - December 3, 2007

I really like the concept behind this site. I’ve been on shutterpoint for a couple years without any downloads and am wondering if they have any buyers. Additionally, they charge for the space photographers use to display their work, and take a commission. I’m starting to think that they only make money by charging photographers, not by selling images. This site is awesome that it’s free to display your art. I have a download already (a big 3 buck commission) but a sale’s a sale, and I’m very happy about it. Good luck to all on this site. It certainly has a very promising future!

15. Ronald de Heer - December 6, 2007

The greatest part of SnapVillage is the ability to disable subscriptions and set your own price.
I would however like to see a few things like:

Pricing upto 150 in order to connect better to the non-microstock prices.
(which mostly start arround 200 and up)

Download of folder and/or unlimited images through an activeX or applet solution.

Limit the amount of screens you have to go through when uploading.

Regards,
Ronald

16. Peter - December 14, 2007

Hi everyone,

I’m trying to make my first download and am not too sure things are working. I add an image, the computer grinds for a while then nothing, It just goes back to step 1, I have to assume there is a step 2 since in fact there is a step 1. I do not see a step 2, can someone confirm this is indeed correct.


Leave a Reply

