jump to navigation

IPTC Support Now Available! September 6, 2007

Posted by Team SnapVillage in snapvillage.
trackback

We know many of you have been frustrated by the lack of IPTC support at SnapVillage and have been holding back on your photo submissions to the site. We are pleased to announce that support for IPTC and IPTC/XMP metadata extraction is now available! This means that when folks upload images with IPTC or IPTC/XMP metadata to the site, we’ll automatically grab the embedded metadata and pre-populate the titles, keywords and descriptions fields in our upload process. We’ve heard you loud and clear on this and are happy to be adding this feature.

Even though SnapVillage now offers support for IPTC and IPTC/XMP, you can still choose to ignore any embedded metadata, and add it manually during the upload process. Of course, our reviewers will still be reviewing all image metadata to check for relevance and accuracy. This means that you if you want to upload your pictures without any metadata at all, you can – we’re happy to do the work of adding metadata for you!

And finally, rest assured that we’re working as quickly as we can to roll out other important features and fixes in the coming weeks.

Thanks. See you around SnapVillage!

Comments»

1. ladytraveler - September 6, 2007

Please give us updates to alot of the questions asked late last month and recently on sany sales, etc. Thanks We would appreciate more updates more often as us photographers are feeling very left out.

2. Andreas G - September 7, 2007

Great news! I hope a FTP-upload for larger batches, and a working watermark in the uploaded pictures is next on the “to do-list”. Then I am ready to upload my portfolio.

3. Damian P. Gadal - September 8, 2007

I noticed the changes. Cool! Lots of hard work I’m sure.

4. PeterC - September 8, 2007

I think people are also waiting for a better watermark, any news on that?

5. Melanie J - September 11, 2007

I know I’m waiting for a better watermark!

6. stephen jacoby - September 29, 2007

I’m puzzled – I enter keywords in Nikon PictureProject. When I upload to SnapVillage, only the first keyword shows up in the “tag” box and I have to manually add the rest back in. Are others having this problem? Is SnapVillage going to fix it?

7. claudio - November 13, 2008

Same for me – I enter keywords using XnView Shell Extension and only the first one is read; I contacted support a few months ago, they kindly answered they would have looked into it but it’s still not working


Leave a Reply

