jump to navigation

SnapVillage Week 1 June 29, 2007

Posted by Team SnapVillage in snapvillage.
trackback

The SnapVillage beta is nearly one week old and we couldn’t be more pleased. The reception we’ve received from photographers, customers, partners, and folks in the media has been quite positive – the beta-bugs and glitches notwithstanding. As we mentioned in a previous post, our development and support teams are working quickly to address the known issues and ship the features you’ve requested. In addition to the site work we’re doing, our image review and approval team are doing yeoman’s (and yeowoman’s) work keeping up with submissions. As we mentioned in a previous post, the image submission volume has been so high that we’ve added both hours and numbers to the team in order to increase our capacity.

Exciting times at SnapVillage and thanks to all of you for making it such a successful first week!

Comments»

1. Liz - June 30, 2007

The site looks great and I’m looking forward to uploading. Just wondering if there are plans to improve/change/move the watermark on the thumbnails. As it is now, the watermark can easily be cropped off most of the thumbnails and the resolution is good enough that some might be enticed to “grab” the thumbnail instead of properly licensing the images.

2. Chris - July 2, 2007

Glad to see this site up! I was wondering if you could give a more specific timeframe for photos to be reviewed. I sent five images in on June 25th, and still have seen nothing.

Thanks

3. hatman - July 2, 2007

Happy to be a part of SV. I’ll hold off uploading any more pictures, though, until you’ve got IPTC data retrieval sorted. Also, your team who select categories are a little ‘uninspired’ in their choices; it would be good to allow the contributing photographers to choose a selection of categories subject to double checking and approval.

I’m sure you’ll get all of these things sorted in the fullness of time.

Some idea of your marketing and development plan would be welcome; after all, it’s all very well having an increasing database of pictures, but it’s the buyers that count in the end!

4. marc - July 3, 2007

Also looking forward to seeing IPTC data acceptance. Have had 15 images in queue for a week; any update on reviews would be welcomed.

5. JohnC - July 3, 2007

Is it better to just upload a few and wait for acceptance? Or keep uploading while waiting? Wondering if each time you upload a new batch you get pushed back in the queue so all of your images get handled at one time?

6. danielburkhead - July 3, 2007

I would just like to be able to “log in”. I keep getting the same message:

“”””Sorry, the village became a city overnight.
We’re scrambling to keep up!

(We told you we were in Beta!)

We’ll be back in a Snap!
In the meantime, feel free to check out our blog, http://blog.snapvillage.com“”””

7. Dijonne - July 3, 2007

I truly hope to see improvements to this site in the future but until then it’s useless for me to attempt uploading anymore. I have tried at different times of the day and night with the same result. Once I hit upload everything stops, links don’t work and of course, the upload didn’t happen. I tried sending this as a sitemail but of course it didn’t work.

8. Jeff Clow - July 4, 2007

It appears that the only images being reviewed are those in sets (ie, groups of images under one topic – like mountains) that are uploaded together.

All my sets have been reviewed with 48 hours and none of my individual photos uploaded have been reviewed even though they have been up for the whole week.

This may be a glitch, or it may be simply that sets get first priority for reviewing….

9. thomas - July 4, 2007

Cant believe a company as big as Corbis, who should have so much experience, and also have the opportunity to pick all the best functions from all the other microsites, would launch their site with so many basic functions either not yet working or not thought of. What were you thinking?!

10. CJPhoto - July 5, 2007

How are the upgrades progressing.

We need FTP and IPTC to be able to submit all our photos. This cannot be done 5 images at a time.

11. EwanRG - July 5, 2007

Let me add to the chorus that would appreciate something like “an average of ten business days” or such for an estimate. I also sent in my images back in June, and have still heard nothing yea or nay about the submissions.

For that matter, once our first set of submissions is approved, do we get into a shorter queue for further submissions, or can we expect a similar wait for each batch? Is it better for us to send a few images at a time, or just wait until we can send a larger group?

TIA!

12. denise beverly - July 5, 2007

*knock knock knock* any body home… no updates on the blog in a week. can you give us some idea of how things are going?
waiting “patiently” for reviews of my images, but i would like to know what is happening since the 29th

13. SnapVillage Team - July 5, 2007

This is a test message …

14. Jim - July 6, 2007

Test is good. I see it fine. So how goes the approval of posted images?

15. Claudia - July 6, 2007

The site looks very good and I look forward to working with you.

You may want to consider sending an auto-response e-mail to anyone who has submitted photos for consideration.

For example, I submitted photos June 26th and have yet to hear any response. It would be nice to know that at least, the images were received and will be reviewed within X-days.

It takes a Snapvillage.

Regards,

16. Toby - July 7, 2007

Have to agree with Liz regarding the poor watermarking. This should be changed with high priority. A lot of the better contributors will postpone uploading until this problem is solved.

Otherwise I am impressed with your beta release. Good luck!

17. Jason P Leslie - July 7, 2007

I am having a problem uploading a property release form. I have tried five different file types and every time it tells me that the “file must be of a type”. But it doesn’t say what type. It is like the web designer forgot to add that little bit of info. It is driving me nuts, I have the form Snapvillage asked for but now I can’t give it to them! And the FAQ says nothing about what file type the property/model release forms should be. I have tried doc, pdf, docx, rtf, and even cvs!

18. juland - July 8, 2007

Hi,

some people asked about moneybookers.
I also don’t work with paypal, cause in germany they are too expensive.
How long have we to wait for an alternative to paypal ?

19. cloudyaz - July 8, 2007

Having trouble changing pricing options on some photos. And YES PLEASE improve/change/move the watermark

20. Kalani - July 9, 2007

Jason, I uploaded all my model releases as .jpg. That may also work with property releases.

I’m singing the same song as everybody else…”when will photos be reviewed?” Everyday I log in an there’s no change in number of photos needing review. I’m pleased to see the blog was finally updated.

Ditto about the watermark.

21. JohnC - July 9, 2007

Some of my individual images are starting to show up. I have not submitted any in sets. Doesn’t seem to be any order to the processing. Some recent ones, some early uploads. 10 so far approved, 48 or so still waiting.

22. collin - July 9, 2007

Great site so far,
Having trouble rotating an image once it is uploaded.
Any thoughts on this?
collin

23. hospitalera - July 10, 2007

” 17. Jason P Leslie – July 7, 2007

I am having a problem uploading a property release form. I have tried five different file types and every time it tells me that the “file must be of a type”. But it doesn’t say what type. It is like the web designer forgot to add that little bit of info. It is driving me nuts, I have the form Snapvillage asked for but now I can’t give it to them! And the FAQ says nothing about what file type the property/model release forms should be. I have tried doc, pdf, docx, rtf, and even cvs!”

Try jpg that is the standard on the other sites I submit to, hope that helps and no, I don’t work for SnapVillage…. SY

24. rick weinert - July 10, 2007

It seems to be taking many days to review pics…don’t know if I should send more or hold off….Also….have had no response to some important questions sent to “contact”…..PLEASE COMMUNICATE…or at least post a blanket explanation and/or estimate of time to fix these issues. Most of the problems fall into just a few catagories.

25. Fenton Ayres - July 10, 2007

I have forgotten my password and the reset failed. I have written a few times for assistance but no response yet.

26. Fenton Ayres - July 10, 2007

A contact phone number would be nice. Email turnaround is long.

Thanks!

27. Natalie Ford - July 10, 2007

I hope that I am not bombarding you with too many bug reports and questions – blame my old career of software and website programmer, QA and usability tester! ;-p

28. SnapVillage Team - July 10, 2007

Hi Natalie. You’re input is much appreciated. Please, please, please keep sending it to us!

29. mimbrava studio - July 12, 2007

Uploading five photos at once ALWAYS results in failure to upload any. Even uploading two is glitchy and takes forever. I finally did, but then after I added tags and clicked Continue, and after many long minutes, nothing happened, and the page reverted to the one I had just left. I backed out of the process and will try again tomorrow maybe.

Also, 5 of the 10 shots I had originally uploaded were posted, but that was half a day ago. Why weren’t they all reviewed at the same time?

It would be nice to be able to add more than one tag at once after photos are posted.

30. Fenton Ayres - July 15, 2007

Still no resolution to password issue.


Leave a Reply

